Skip to content

Governance /

Previous Board Members

Brief History of the Board

Since its opening in 1959, St. Joseph’s General Hospital Elliot Lake has welcomed the community to become members of its Advisory Board.  The very first Advisory Board of St. Joseph’s General Hospital Elliot Lake consisted of twelve members:

  • Mr. Robert C. Hart, President
  • Mr. Mel Bowman, Vice-President
  • Rev. Raymond Farrell, Secretary Treasurer
  • Mr. Murray Airth, Chairman of Finance Committee
  • Mr. J. Gauthier, Chairman of Property Committee
  • Mr. Al Brunet, Chairman of Legal Committee
  • Mr. Hal Wright, Chairman of Public Relations
  • Mr. Ed Blahey
  • Mr. Ray Jones
  • Mr. R. Lindberg
  • Mr. Bernard Molloy
  • Dr. James Ruse

Our Current Board Members (Membership 2022-23)

Appointed Voting Members

  • JOHNSTON, Elaine (Chair)
  • ROBITAILLE, Lyne (Vice Chair)
  • CARLING, Jennifer (Trustee)
  • ELLIOTT, William (Trustee)
  • GOULDING, Heather (Trustee)
  • VACANT (Trustee)
  • VACANT (Trustee)
  • BUCK, Anna Lee (Trustee)
  • EWEN, Nancy (Trustee)

Ex-Officio Voting Members

  • GREER, Sister Alice (Trustee) (Sisters of St. Joseph of Sault Ste. Marie & Catholic Health Sponsors of Ontario Rep.)
  • HOO, Sheila (Trustee) (Bishop’s Rep.)

Ex-Officio Non-Voting Members

  • STEVENSON, Jeremy (CEO)(Secretary-Treasurer)
  • CHI, Dr. Frank (Chief of Medical Staff)
  • SANDERS, Leslie Acting CNE
  • PRESCOTT, Dr. Chris (Medical Staff President)
William Elliott
William Elliott
Board Trustee
Elaine Johnston
Elaine Johnston
Board Chair
Lyne Robitaille Board Vice Chair
Lyne Robitaille
Board Vice Chair
Jennifer Carling
Jennifer Carling
Board Trustee
SJGHEL placeholder icon
Board Trustee
Heather Goulding Board Trustee
Heather Goulding
Board Trustee
SJGHEL placeholder icon
Board Trustee
SJGHEL placeholder icon
Anna Lee Buck
Board Trustee
SJGHEL placeholder icon
Nancy Ewen
Board Trustee
Sheila Hoo, Bishop’s Designate
Sheila Hoo
Bishop’s Designate
SJGHEL placeholder icon
Sr. Alice Greer
CHSO Designate
Jeremy Stevenson, CEO/Administrator Manor/Board Secretary-Treasurer
Jeremy Stevenson
CEO/Administrator Manor
Board Secretary-Treasurer
Leslie Sanders
Interim CNE
Dr Frank Chi, Chief of Staff
Dr Frank Chi
Chief of Staff
Dr Chris Prescott, Medical Staff President
Dr Chris Prescott
Medical Staff President

How to Become a Board Member

If you have and interest in health care and a willingness to actively support the Philosophy, Mission and Objectives of St. Joseph’s General Hospital Elliot Lake and can devote the time to prepare for and attend Board and Committee meetings once a month then we invite you to complete an application including your resume and references and submit to:

Jeremy Stevenson, Chief Executive Office/Secretary of the Board
St. Joseph’s General Hospital
70 Spine Road
Elliot Lake Ontario, P5A 1X2

Please remember to clearly mark your application as “Board Trustee Application”

Please click here to fill out your application

Once you have submitted your application, a recruitment/nominating committee will review all applications and a written response will be sent to every applicant. 

You are eligible to apply to be part of the Board of Trustees if you reside in one of the following communities served by SJGHEL:

  • City of Elliot Lake 
  • Town of Massey
  • Township of Shedden
  • Serpent River First Nation
  • Township of Sable-Spanish Rivers
  • Sagamok First Nation
  • Township of Spanish
  • Township of the North Shore

Thank you for your interest and willingness to JOIN US IN OUR MISSION.